10th Apr 2012 Instagram app sold to Facebook for $1bn

Posted on April 10, 2012

0



So today I read that Instagram sold for $1bn. The question obviously is whether or not its worth the money or not. I’ve never owned an iphone and never intend to, and this is where they started out. I’ve recently upgraded to a decent smartphone and have finally begun discovering the world of apps (better late than never I guess). Upon looking at the camera app, I have to say there must be hundreds of them. I have two on my phone and my app of choice is one called Pixlr-o-matic which is free (and dare I say it, considering my livelyhood is photography, it’s great!)

So my question is; how is the price tag justified? And if Facebook decide to play/toggle/destroy Instagram, whats to stop another competitor taking its place?

As a tribute to Pixlr-o-matic here are a couple of shots taken on my HTC and using the Pixlr-o-matic software

image

image

image

image

